Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

Hello Blogosphere! Saturday May 17, 2008

Filed under: Daily Life — The Professor @ 3:26 am

So… I’m jumping on the bandwagon.  Creating a little space for myself in the blogosphere.   All the cool kids are doin’ it.  Do you think the cool kids call it the “blogosphere”?  Probably not.

I don’t want to set myself up for failure by making any bold statements about the frequency of my posting, but I hope to visit often.  Life feels so busy and exciting right now that I don’t want to forget anything.  Makes me think of Adam Duritz. “Maybe I should snap her up in a butterfly net, pin her down in a photograph album”.  I DO love Adam. 

A current snapshot of the blue sky:

  • Wedding planning with K.  Technically it’s not a wedding as neither the church or the state will recognize our union, but I stubbornly think of it as a wedding.
  • Pending job changes.  Will it be business or will it be psychology?  Will it be tenure-track or non tenure track?  Who knows?  Wish I did.
  • Hobby house hunting.  We aren’t REALLY looking for a house, but we are having lots of fun pretending.  Btw my career status and K’s lack of fellowship clarity, we don’t know where we will be in a few years.  Probably not the best time to put down roots. 
  • Preparing for the “Summer of the Baby”.  Four of our friends are expecting a total of five babies (twins!!) in the next few months.  Babies are the new black.
  • Reveling in my mothers’ recent use of the term “same-sex wedding”.  Go Mom!  My parents came to visit us last weekend and I still feel warm and fuzzy.  We are all getting more comfortable with each other and I am SO grateful for that. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

