Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

Why must work be so intrusive? Tuesday July 15, 2008

Filed under: Daily Life — The Professor @ 9:15 pm

I have spent the last few days treading water on the university front and trying not to drown. While teaching two summer school classes is good for the bank account, it’s not all that good for the soul. It’s hard to make time for the important things like reading books, surfing the net for wedding dress possibilities and catching up on The Colbert Report. As much as I whine about the pace, I’m a much happier and more well-balanced person when my dance card is full. It’s true. I like to be busy. I get more done when I have more items on the list than I could possibly check off. And, the real truth of the matter is that I absolutely LOVE to teach. I love it. I get so much energy from my students. Unfortunately, teaching requires preparation. It’s the preparation that blows. Particularly if you are me and you have left your true discipline (psychology) and migrated to the dark world of business. Yes, I’m still talking about the same kinds of things, but I’m doing it in a business school. It’s been a year now and I still can’t really believe that. Sometimes, when I’ve kind of forgotten and then suddenly I remember, I just can’t stop laughing. It’s really too much.

 

Leave a Reply

