Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

Once Upon a Time…. Sunday August 31, 2008

Filed under: Daily Life,Music — The Professor @ 9:40 am

I taught a class on the Psychology of Women.  Ahh…… Those were the days.  I have never worked harder on a course and if I do say so myself….it was fabulous.  So, I’m telling you this because I was reminded of the class yesterday while wasting time on YouTube.  I was looking around for demonstrations of handfasting ceremonies to send to Charlie, when I was distracted by a musician who I haven’t thought about for a while.  Dar Williams.  In my Psych of Women class I had a kind of soundtrack for the course in which as students got to class (5 min or so before start time) a song related to the topic for the day would be playing.  They loved it and I loved it and it was tons of fun.  One of the songs that they were the most responsive to was a Dar Williams song that I used early in the course to start the conversation on gender and gender roles.  The song is called “When I was a Boy” and it is just amazing.  I love, love, love the idea of being “just a small boy on her bike”.  Yesterday I found a video of the song and just sat in front of my computer crying.  Yeh, it’s been that kind of a weekend 😉  So, I’m adding a link here and I think you should check it out.  It’s worth your time for sure!

 

 

And if that totally wrecks you, I suggest the pick me up that I selected for myself.  It certainly did the trick.  Yes, I’m talking about Amy Ray again ;).  This is a video of Amy and Brandi Carlile (also fabulous in her own right) singing a solo tune of Amy’s called Johnny Rottentale.  All I have to say is “Um, excuse me Brandi.  Can I sing your part?  Yeh?  Thanks!”

 

 

2 Responses to “Once Upon a Time….”

  1. theresa Says:

    those pants, amy! oh my.

    gotta love that girl despite her *keen* fashion sense.

    chin up, girl. there is an end in sight. call if you need us!

  2. LauraC Says:

    Awww, (((hugs))) to you. And thanks for reminding me of Dar, need to pull out her CDs I have around here somewhere. Have you heard Amy’s new solo album?


Leave a Reply

