Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

Stand Back People!! Saturday March 14, 2009

Filed under: Daily Life — The Professor @ 8:11 pm

img_0314I LOVE this picture of Gadget.  That little man knows how to let it out.  I could use just a smidge of that.  Last week was my Spring Break – a time for rest and relaxation, right?  Not for me.  I have never really made friends with rest and relaxation and they are holding a grudge.  The week started out on the right note with a surprise visit from everybody’s favorite baby, Bella.  She was accompanied by her parents who I couldn’t have been happier to see.  They arrived on Friday night and stayed through Monday afternoon.  We hadn’t seen them since December and man did that little girl grow.  This visit hit me hard.  I loved every minute that we had together.  Loved the walks and the Bella feedings and the cheese dip and the Little Miss Sunshine laughs and the conversations and the ease of the whole thing.  Mostly I loved the ease.  The solidity of our friendship.  The weight it will bear.  T and I met during our freshman year in college when we lived across the hall from one another.  She started dating Z that same year, so I got to know them as a couple.  It’s been 13 years now.  The visit hit me hard because on Monday they left.  They went back home to Atlanta and I don’t live in Atlanta anymore.  This is certainly not new news, but it hit below the belt this week.  Toad is drowning in a six month board study marathon and I am fending for myself.  Sounds pretty pathetic, doesn’t it?  Well, it has felt true this week.  Sure, I have a job that I could throw myself into, but really…..is that gonna happen??!  I think not.  So, I’m left with Gadget and Baker and a lot of questions and insecurities about how I manage relationships.  Lovely.

 

Leave a Reply

