Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

Current Distractions Wednesday August 5, 2009

Filed under: Daily Life — The Professor @ 6:27 pm

I’ve got two weeks left in my summer.  I want to soak up all the freedom of not having classes or meetings, but I’ve got baby on the brain.  It’s a little paralyzing really.  Fixation makes relaxation pretty impossible.  Fixation and freedom don’t fit into the same sentence.  When this kind of OCD emerges, it’s time for distraction.

1. Ahab’s Wife or, The Star-Gazer (Sena Jeter Naslund)

I am loving this book.  Les passed it along almost a year ago and it has occupied various spots in the house without ever really getting any attention.  The cover, the title, the blurb on the back.  All of it said “blah” to me.  The wife of the guy from Moby Dick.  Who cares?  A few days ago I decided I did care.  I don’t know what happened.  I started reading and was immediately sucked in.  I love to be surprised and I have been surprised by this book.  I had expected some kind of womens’ studies slant on historical fiction (which was not appealing) and I got something entirely different.  I got Una.  I got a truly great character.  And I’ve got almost 700 pages of her.  Perfect timing.

2. My niece

If you don’t have your own baby, why not play house with your best friends’ baby?  That’s what I’m thinking.  So I’m headed to the ATL next week to do just that.  I can’t wait to see all three of them.  I hate that T has already gone back to school and we won’t be able to spend the days together, but Mommy and Daddy at work does offer a unique opportunity.  A few days as primary caregiver for a real.live.baby.  Looking fwd to it.

3. Knitting

This is a recent development.  I have never been a knitter.  I have never actually held knitting needles until a few weeks ago.  It’s something I’ve always thought I would be into and so it seems like this might be the time.  Knitting strikes me as an appropriate craft for the anxious.  We met my parents in Atlanta for a quick visit a few weekends back and Mom and I hit Michael’s.  I bought some lovely yarn, a pair of needles and a beginner book.  Mom showed me how to tie a slip knot, tie on and knit the garter stitch.  I am on my way.  My first project is a scarf (you gotta start with a scarf, right?) and I have big plans for baby blankets.

4. Running & Yoga

My body is feeling kind of “off” lately, but I’m struggling to stay with it.  Toad and I ran a half marathon in Seattle in late June and runs just haven’t felt all that good since then.  I was ready for that race and I was proud of the accomplishment and the fact that I went through the finish line with my wife.  It was a high. You might describe what has followed as an extended low.  I’ve kept with it for the most part (running 4 times a week), but I haven’t felt springy and smooth in a long time.  I want that back.

I can’t go to yoga if I’m not in town or if I’m teaching during the classes.  Bikram yoga and summer are not compatible.  I was finally able to get back on Monday morning and I am STILL sore.  It was ugly.  It was a big, sweaty, painful masochistic hour and a half.  Oh yeah…… I’ll be back.

5. Big Brother

Oh the shame of it!!!  Actually, it’s kind of freeing to get that out there.  To own it.  “Hello, my name is _____________ and I watch Big Brother”.  Now, I’m not watching the feeds or stalking the message boards, but I watch it.  I do.  I can feel my brain cells shrinking and gasping for nutrition, but still I watch.  This isn’t the most exciting season, but it has its moments.  Ronnie is freakishly evil and Michelle’s efforts to keep her PhD a secret is entertaining.

6. Scrapbooking

I’m not actually scrapbooking, but I am thinking about scrapbooking.  That is a step in the right direction.  I’m pumped about the scrapping adventure that T and I are going to next weekend and it’s got me excited.  Thinking about stories and colors and fonts.  I love that stuff and I’ve missed it.

In foreclosure news – we talked to the landlords last night and they assured us that the house isn’t really in foreclosure.  I guess the police officer was just joking around and we are in a kind of pseudo foreclosure.  Whatev.  The bottom line is that we are getting a whole lot of nothin from them, so we’ve got to keep our eyes open for real estate.  Who knows what’s coming next.

 

Leave a Reply

