Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

Looking Ahead Thursday August 20, 2009

Filed under: Daily Life — The Professor @ 4:55 pm

IMG_0321

 

It’s a weird time.  A blurry time.  Lots of changes on the horizons.  Most of the time I’m excited, but sometimes it gets a little scary.  I’ve spent this week in WAY TOO MANY faculty meetings at a university where I’m likely not to be this time next year.  I’m entering the year knowing that no matter what happens, it won’t be forever.  There is a light at the end of the tunnel.  Man does that seem to be shifting my perspective.  So far, the insanity doesn’t seem to be seeping into me.  So far. 

In the midst of a terrible job market, Toad already has two bites on her line.  One of the bites is more of a nibble, but the other is looking really feasible.  In fact, they are flying us both out for a visit at the beginning of Sept.  How exciting is that?  The position is an academic one that pay well, has excellent hours with limited call and in a town we already like.  All of this is moving much faster than I had anticipated (her fellowship does not end until end of June 2010), but it would be FABULOUS to have so much time to plan a move.  That would give me much more time than I had expected to find something career-wise to do with myself.  Exciting.

The first baby try was unsuccessful, but we are sallying forth and maybe the second time will be the charm.  This is a hell of a process and I am grateful for the opportunity to go through it.  I mean that.  We are learning so much about each other and every day I am more and more wowed by my wife.  She is strong and capable and committed to our family.

Also, as of this afternoon my hair looks nothing like the picture above.  I realized a few days ago that I have spent maybe two days this summer without a ponytail.  This is generally a good indication that it’s time for a cut.  Nicole cut 11 inches this afternoon and I now have hair that comes just below my ears.  It’s light and piecey and perhaps makes my face look a bit more angular.  I hope it is.  Regardless of what it does for my bone structure, it signals a shift.  An external signal of all of the shifting beneath the surface.

 

Leave a Reply

