Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

I Think This is a Record Sunday December 20, 2009

Filed under: Daily Life — The Professor @ 6:04 pm

At least since graduating from college.  I’m coming close to the end of three full days in my pajamas.  I should probably mention that today’s pj’s are clean.  After Friday and Saturday spent in my favorite grey fuzzy pair, this AM I decided it was time for something new.  It was really the least I could do.  Unfortunately, I can’t say that I’m sick or that I have any broken limbs.  All I can say is that it snowed pretty significantly on Friday and there is still icy slush on the road.  I’m celebrating new laziness lows.

The snow on Friday afternoon brought me an early Christmas present.  It might be the best gift I receive this year.  Fall graduation was cancelled!!  I still can hardly believe my luck.  A good four and a half hours of my life returned to me.  Thrilling.  I was so excited that I decided to go for a long run.  When I left the house it was cold, but there was no sign of rain or sleet or anything else.  About three miles in, it started sleeting.  Cold and sharp on my face.  I ran by a middle school as the buses were headed out early and it seemed like the whole town was headed for home.  Once I got past five miles it was definitely snowing and the roads were feeling slick.  That slowed me down quite a bit, but I managed to wander 10 miles around town as the weather changed from regular Friday afternoon to Major Winter Weather event.  This is what I like about running; experiencing the world in such an interesting way.

That run was the last significant thing I have accomplished.  Since then, I have been reading, watching movies (Seven Pounds, Ratatouile, Primal Fear) and beating Toad at Trivial Pursuit.  Together we have eaten way too many cookies and schools and schools of goldfish.  I have a personal statement to write, but I keep reminding myself that the application deadline isn’t until the 31st.  Why rush?  I’m exhausted from my own laziness.

 

Leave a Reply

