Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

Academia is Dangerous Sunday February 14, 2010

Filed under: Career — The Professor @ 2:31 pm

Have you heard the news about the Friday shooting at the University of Alabama?  If you haven’t heard the story, read this little blurb about it here.  I can’t get this off my mind.  Three people killed when a biology professor was denied tenure.  And they were shot at a faculty meeting.  Absolutely awful.  My heart goes out to everyone involved in this situation.  I’ve had very vivid fears of precisely this situation, so when I was talking to Mom earlier this weekend and she passed the story along, I just couldn’t believe it.  But, I also very much COULD believe it and that makes all of it so much worse.

 

Leave a Reply

