Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

Tally Ho – The Adventurer Week 1 Tuesday March 30, 2010

Filed under: The Adventurer — The Professor @ 11:13 am

No need to blink.  You read that right.  I actually did use Tally Ho as a title.  What can I say?  It was the first thing that came to mind.

So here’s what I’m thinking with this adventure idea.  I will choose some challenge/program/interesting thing each month and try to see what I can get out of it.  My goal is to be flexible and see what I can learn.  Some adventures might require more or less than a month, some may come from books or websites or who knows where.  In fact this is where you come in (if you are in fact out there).  If you have an idea for a future adventure (you’ve heard of a book or a cool project-oriented website) I would LOVE it if you would leave your idea and an information about it in the comments.  It would be so much more fun to have folks to play with.  🙂

I’m starting with Kathy Freston’s Quantum Wellness: A Practical & Spiritual Guide to Health & Happiness.  This is a book that I picked up last year and have paged through but never really sat down to consider.  I have long been harassed for my interest in self-helpy/spiritual books, but I’m still standing strong.  Some are silly and many of them say the same things, but I’ve gotten something out of more than one of them.  So, I’m carrying on.

Early in the book Freston lays out what she calls the Eight Pillars of Wellness.  Her idea is that these are eight practices that work together in a synergistic way to move us closer to wellness:

  1. Meditation
  2. Visualization
  3. Fun Activities
  4. Conscious Eating
  5. Exercise
  6. Self-Work
  7. Spiritual Practice
  8. Service

The book is loosely structured around each of these pillars.  One of the things that I like about her approach is her idea that instead of radical change, we are better served by “leaning into” new changes.  Here’s an example of what I mean:

“So quantum wellness, to me, is about the tiny little things that we invest our energy in every day and every moment.  These little investments of attention hold us in a steady and predictable place.  But when we make shifts – no matter how small and subtle – we agitate the norm….. The momentum we generate through our actions leads, eventually, to a tipping point, and then there is a breakthrough, a quantum leap….. It is not about imposing big changes but about leaning into wellness, comfortably, adding things here and there to the thrust and taking baby steps toward the changes we want to achieve”.

This “leaning in” thing really resonates with me.  I am not a leaner.  I am a crasher into new directions.  I don’t take it slow.  Who has the time?!!  However, this has kept me neatly in my little box of safety.  It’s very easy to be overwhelmed by making a new change when you feel like you have to radically overhaul your life in order to do it.  Actually, I think Cathy Z said it best over on her Bits & Pieces blog in a post in which she said this:

“Dan and I and not very much alike. He recently shared this analogy with me. ‘Let’s say I see the movie “Witness” and I decide I’d like to learn more about the Amish. I might go to the library, check out a few books, bring them home and maybe, just maybe crack the cover and read a few chapters. You? You become Amish.'”

I also BECOME Amish.  This is problematic.  At 32, I can actually see that and I’m working on my ability to lean.  In that spirit, I am going to focus on only one pillar this week.  I had originally thought I would do two a week, hitting all 8 pillars in a month, but you know…. one a week is probably enough.

So….first up?  Meditation.  And not because it’s listed first on Kathy’s list.  I’m starting here because this is a practice I would like to adopt.  Given that I’m not exactly a “clear your mind” natural, I could use a little work here.  So, that’s my plan for the week.  I’m starting with 5 minutes of focused breathing each morning.  We’ll see what happens.  I’ll report back this time next week.  Want to play along?  If you have any interest leave a comment.  I would love to hear from you!!

 

3 Responses to “Tally Ho – The Adventurer Week 1”

  1. T Says:

    I’ll play along… just because everything you can do I can do better. ;oP

    Spring Break affords me a great opportunity to dive, ahem LEAN, into it. I’m all about that leaning idea. LOVE IT!

    Here’s to wellness and clearing our minds and to focusing on ourselves!

  2. […] Inspired by M, I am going to join her on the adventure this week and meditate. I will carve out 5 minutes every night before bed to clear my mind, relax, and […]


Leave a Reply

