Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

The Second Week of April Monday April 19, 2010

Filed under: Movies and TV,Pregnancy,The Wife & Mother — The Professor @ 12:29 pm

This was the kind of weekend that makes it hard to move.  We live in a FABULOUS little community.  I moved here three years ago and I’m so, so, so glad that I did.  I know there are great things ahead, but our little corner of the world feels so much like home it’s hard to imagine that our new spot could possibly feel so homey.

All right.  Enough of that.  What have we been up to during the second week of April?  The short answer is all sorts of things.

After our out-of-town adventure last weekend, we got back home to a busy, business-sy Tuesday.  Bean had her official anatomy scan (everything still looks great) and Toad had another brief chat with the OB.  Not a lot to discuss with those folks these days.  At 20 weeks, she’s feeling good and hasn’t gotten into the uncomfortable part of pregnancy yet.  And even I took my turn in the stirrups and it looks like all is well in Professor land.  With the exception of the fact that true to Dr. Toad’s expectations, my iron levels are indeed low, it looks like I’ll be around for another year.  Once everyone but Baker had interacted with a medical professional, it was time to meet with our friend Lee, the $$ man.  Toad and I are both VERY conservative in the money department and making a financial plan for our family (while TOTALLY necessary and useful) is NOT my idea of a pleasant way to spend the evening.  I don’t know what it is, but the topic is anxiety provoking.  In spite of all that, we made it through and got some usable ideas from Lee about smart timing and savings goals for the house purchase, life insurance avenues for Toad and to a lesser extent me, and retirement planning advice.  An evening well spent for sure.  And Lee is funny.  I like the guy.  That helps.

The remainder of the work week was fairly uneventful.  The Professor talked to a bunch a people who only half listened to her and Toad sat in a dark room interpreting x-rays, MRI’s and PET scans.  Business as usual.

But the weekend….ahhh the weekend.  Blue sky, warm temps and happy girls.  Bean participated in her 2nd race on Saturday morning when Toad ran in the local Hospice 10K that I blogged about last time.  I got up and headed to the lake for a 7 mile loop that I haven’t done in months.  The lake was beautiful and my first twinges of pre-emptive homesickness started as I made my way around.  A lot of important thoughts have been thought and conversations had at that lake.  I’ll miss it for sure.  We spent the afternoon wandering around the Earth Day Fair with the Grabs.  Learning about green construction and local CSA’s, listening to music and eating hummus wraps and gelato.  Toad even got to try out a recumbent bike, although it’s not so easy to pedal from a “lying on the couch” position.  Got some pictures of that that I’ll add later.  Funny stuff.  The only downer was that sunscreen never crossed my mind.  Opps.  Later that night on the couch while watching Lost and eating Whole Foods, my neck felt oddly warm and a quick trip to the bathroom revealed….. yup, a red neck.  Nice.

On Sunday we decided to do church at the lake.  We put Baker on the leash and made our way around, sometimes talking, sometimes just listening to the leaves and the water.  It’s been awhile since we’ve done that and it felt good to be together in that way.  We caught this hilarious documentary late in the afternoon because the local Film Fest is going on.

Hilarious!  Laughing in a cool dark theater after a weekend of running and walking and sun was just the thing and the movie really was great.  If you’ve never heard of the Topp Twins (which I hadn’t before yesterday), one of the comics interviewed in the film described them this way: “I remember a guy from New York ask me,  who’s the big comedy act in New Zealand, and I said ahh… some yodeling, lesbian twins.”  This is truly a joyful movie and if it comes anywhere near you, you should check it out.  In fact, I’ll add the trailer.

The weekend ended on the patio of our friends down the street.  After the movie, we strolled down to their house for Portobello burgers, guacamole, white wine (for me), and terrifying labor and delivery stories.  They have a 4-year-old and apparently, the memories are still strong.  Why do people do this?  It seems like some kind of terrible universal urge to scare the hell out of pregnant women.  Not ok.  We didn’t let it put too much of a damper on the weekend, although Toad did have a nightmare involving a pendulous flap of loose skin on her abdomen that no amount of exercise or surgery could remove.  Lovely.

 

2 Responses to “The Second Week of April”

  1. T Says:

    aaaah… labor stories. gotta love ’em.
    one word: epidural.

    and: was the Bean referenced as “she” on purpose, or are you trying to confuse the world and Bean’s soon to be favorite aunty?

    • Me Says:

      No attempt at confusion. We still don’t know. Sometimes I use he and sometimes she. However the spirit moves me.

      Also….. you really should check out the movie. I know how you love you some kiwi. 😉


Leave a Reply

