Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

What Can I Say About Running this Week…. Thursday April 22, 2010

Filed under: The Runner — The Professor @ 3:00 pm

It’s hard.

That’s what I’ve got.

Actually, the running isn’t as hard as the starting to run.  If I can actually get myself out the door, I’m golden.  I am totally prepared to take it from there.  It’s everything that leads up to the run (or any form of exercise really) that demands all the motivation.  This is the kind of thing that waxes and wanes.  Sometimes I just have to give myself a little nudge and sometimes it takes more of a shove.  I’m in the midst of a shoving period.  Lately one of the first thoughts that comes to my head when I wake up is, I don’t want to run today.  It’s sad, but true.  That little message echoes throughout the day until I either buck up and do it or cave and decide to bail on exercise for the day.  Can you say big, huge waste of mental energy?!  Um….yeah.  I hate that.  Unfortunately, hating it doesn’t seem to change anything.  I guess that is the way it goes.

I guess the message of the week (for me anyway) is that it’s ok.

  • It’s ok that sometimes I just don’t feel like it
  • It’s ok that I’m not a natural runner (whatever THAT is)
  • It’s ok that a 9 minute mile is probably my top pace

All I have to do is run anyway.  What’s so hard about that?

 

2 Responses to “What Can I Say About Running this Week….”

  1. Lizz Says:

    OMG, I want to start running so bad… I downloaded the Couch to 5k app for my iPhone, but I haven’t even hit step one (the whole getting off the couch thing)
    *Sigh*


Leave a Reply

