Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

A Big Part of Writing is…. well, Writing Friday July 16, 2010

Filed under: Daily Life,The Writer — The Professor @ 1:46 pm

If you want to develop yourself as a writer, you’ve got to write.  It’s not something you can really avoid.

Right.

So, back to the page I go.  Again.

I’ve been refreshing myself with The Artist’s Way and reminding myself of the importance of Morning Pages.   Julia Cameron (the creator of the book) describes the Morning Pages in this way:

“Morning Pages are three pages of longhand, stream of consciousness writing, done first thing in the morning. There is no wrong way to do Morning Pages– they are not high art. They are about anything and everything that crosses your mind– and they are for your eyes only.”

I know one thing about these pages for sure.  I know that I feel more balanced when I wake up to the page.  I’m not so sure that it will ever mold me into a fabulous writer, but it might make me a calmer, happier person.

 

Leave a Reply

