Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

The Second Week of July Sunday July 18, 2010

Filed under: Daily Life,Movies and TV,Pregnancy,The Wife & Mother — The Professor @ 2:19 pm

This week our new place actually started feeling like home.  The beginnings of comfort and familiarity.  This makes me SO happy.  I love comfort and familiarity. 😉

So, what were we up to?

During the early part of the week Toad spent some time doing things like this:

No, it’s probably not best for a woman in her 8th month of pregnancy to be playing on ladders, but hey… this is Toad.  The girl stops for no one.   I had my place in all of this of course and together we painted one wall of the dining room Seven Seas blue.  Toad wishes it were a few shades darker, but I think it’s quite nice.  As for Casa de Bean, all we lack is Bean his/herself.  The car seat arrived and Toad got it installed in the car in spite of temps in the high 90’s.  Since I knew I couldn’t talk her out of doing it, I just made sure she had lots of water for the effort.  We also got the baby monitor installed and it was fun to test it out a bit.   I am LOVING the lambs and in their final form they look like this:

The lambs are cute and the nursery is fabulous, but my wife is suddenly really being clubbed by this baby.  She has enjoyed an uneventful and fairly easy pregnancy, but in the last week or so the tides seem to be turning.  At least as far as “easy” goes.  She is always uncomfortable, she pays pretty dearly for absolutely every thing she eats (no matter how small the meal), there is NO space in her bladder, it’s hard for her to breathe and she’s started to itch.  Lovely.  I’m looking fwd to our OB appt next week.  I’m starting to wonder what’s going on here.  It’s probably all normal, but it’s such a shift from how she has felt.

On the social front, we’ve enjoyed two meals with friends.  We met the Jasper’s (W & M) at an Italian place where we INHALED a delicious pizza and gelato (one scoop of coffee and one of whipped cream).  Yum!  I will certainly be back.  Toad will work with M and I really like both of them.  W is also a psychologist who left academia and is now a SAHM to an almost 2-year-old.  If you can believe it, she is also pregnant and due just days after we are.  Yup.  We have alot in common and I’m looking fwd to getting to know them both.  Last night we met the Wisons (G &L) at our new favorite burger joint.  This place is GOOD and in walking distance from our house.  G & L also have an almost 2-year-old  and are pregnant with #2.  They are due late in February.

Happily, I’ve found a fabulous new hair guy.  His name is Lewis and I like what he did for my hair.  More importantly though, I love him.  He was thrilled to hear that I have a wife and a baby on the way and gave me lots of recommendations for everything from realtors to coffee shops to people we should meet around town.  I also got a good suggestion for someone that could cut Toad’s hair.  I think Lewis would irritate Toad as he is super spazzy, but I think he’s great.

Lastly, in preparation for Bean we decided to go to the theater for an animated movie.  Neither of us are big kid movie fans, but we’ve got to get ready.  We saw Despicable Me and now I want one of these:

I wasn’t really expecting much more than some air conditioning and a little popcorn, but I thought it was fun.  If I had read much about the movie I would have known that I would like it bc I LOVE the lovable grump.  Bottomline, it’s worth the money.  At least matinée money.

 

2 Responses to “The Second Week of July”

  1. Les Says:

    Glad to see that you’re finding things to occupy your month off! Can’t wait to see the new place and meet Bean! I just *love* the lambs!

    • The Professor Says:

      Hey! Cool to see you here. Yeah, we’re keeping busy and the lambs are just ridiculously cute. We can’t wait to see you guys!


Leave a Reply

