Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

The Second Week of December Tuesday December 21, 2010

Filed under: Daily Life,The Wife & Mother — The Professor @ 9:46 am

The first part of the week was cold, cold, cold.  Temperatures in the teens are not what you want when you walk three miles a day with a dog and a baby.  Although my favorite way to walk with Bean is to wear him in the Bjorn, this week we broke out the stroller and bundled the boy from head to toe.  Baker and I were both a bit envious of his warm little nest.

I was wrestling a cold early in the week, but by Wednesday night I was well enough for dinner with the Jasper’s who we have not seen since both of our boys were born.  Their guy came the week after Bean, so we’ve all been a bit busy.  It was lots of fun to see them and meet their new son.  It was crazy amounts of fun to watch Bean play in their bouncy seat. He was clearly confused by the whole thing, but it was an excited kind of confused.  We don’t have a bouncy seat and I’m telling you I could hear him thinking “Man, they’ve been holding out on me.  I’ve got a fan and a paci and this dude has got an entire room of toys!”  Oh well.

Toad’s parents arrived on Friday afternoon and Bean was thrilled to see them. They came to town to care for Bean on Saturday when Toad and I would be heading out-of-town for my cousin’s wedding.  It was a super quick trip, but it was an important one.  Your baby cousin doesn’t get married every day and I’m glad we could be there to celebrate with them.  The good news is that Toad and I made it back home in time to spend Sunday with Bean.

After the grandparent’s headed out-of-town, we did a little Christmas shopping.  Battling the crowds with a baby is no fun, but we saved the best for last.  On the way home, we made our first trip to the library with Bean.  I have been excited about this for quite some time and I was glad the three of us could go together.  I’m pretty sure Bean had no idea that he was in a particularly special place, but we did.  It was a great way to end the week.

 

 

One Response to “The Second Week of December”

  1. T Says:

    Let us know if/when you want the johnny jumper… I have no problem mailing it to you! It doesn’t have batteries like “the office” does, so your wife won’t worry about sensory overload. ;o)


Leave a Reply

