Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

This is Where I Leave You (Jonathan Tropper) Sunday March 13, 2011

Filed under: Daily Life,The Reader — The Professor @ 4:34 pm

This wasn’t the book I thought it was.  I thought I had picked up another book by this guy (likely a matter of similar tastes in cover art) and I was five chapters in before I realized that I was wrong.  Happily I was wrong in a good way.

I went for the Joshua Ferris/Jonathan Tropper because I was in the mood for dark and funny.  Dark and funny is exactly what I got with This is Where I Leave You.  The story is told by Judd Foxman, a man who is helping fulfill the dying wish of his father (who was by all reports an atheist) by sitting shiva with his wacky family.  The novel unfolds over the seven days of mourning and manages to get into everything from infertility and infidelity to sibling rivalry and traumatic brain injury.  The perfect balance of serious/thought-provoking and hysterical.  I was thrilled to find out that this is his fifth book.  I will definitely be reading the first four!

 

One Response to “This is Where I Leave You (Jonathan Tropper)”

  1. Angela Says:

    LOVED this book. How To Talk to a Widower is even better!! He does darkly funny wonderfully. Reading Freedom right now and the tone is similar but Franzen doesn’t quite nail it for me like this book did.


Leave a Reply

