Blue in the Sky

A lesbian wife and mother tries her hand at something new. Surely there is a hat that fits out there somewhere!

The Second Week in August Monday August 15, 2011

Filed under: Daily Life,The Wife & Mother — The Professor @ 7:25 pm

This week was a birthday week.  Toad’s parents arrived at the farmhouse on Sunday the 7th and my parents rolled into town on Thursday the 11th.  Muzzie and Grandpa came into town in the afternoons to play with Bean giving me a little time to myself.  Love that.  Unfortunately I had to spend some of it doing things like grocery shopping, emissions testing and oil changes, but at least I didn’t have to drag little Bean along.  I also had time to do things like cook recipes from my new favorite cookbook Peas and Thank You, which I loved.  Bean and I kept busy in the mornings with playdates and we took Nana and Pops to Story Time at the downtown library on Friday.  Nana has always been a Calamity Jane fan, so she was particularly excited for the Wild West Circus.

Saturday was party day and we all had fun.   Bean wasn’t sure what to think about his cake, but when we finally moved it off his tray and replaced it with his dinner, he was a happy guy.  Why eat cake when you can eat peas?  The remainder of the day was spent taking pictures, playing with new toys and enjoying our favorite boys.

The grandparents headed for home on Sunday morning and we headed to church.  We were scheduled as greeters along with Norah’s family, but unfortunately Norah stayed home with her Mom.  Boo.  We did get to visit with her Dad though and we like him too. 😉  Toad, Bean and Baker went for a post afternoon nap hike while I enjoyed a little solo Mama time.  We wrapped up the weekend with yet another Peas and Thank You dinner (Red Lentil Enchiladas with Homemade Salsa).

 

One Response to “The Second Week in August”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Happy Birthday to Bean! I’ve been too busy to try out any of the recipes from the book, but you’ve got me excited about trying some out. They all looked and sounded delish! Hopefully I’ll get some time in the kitchen soon 🙂


Leave a Reply

